Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
East Launceston Football Club

Known as
East Launceston

Former name

Former name date

1947 as Cornwall; 1958 changed name to East Launceston; merged with City-South 1986


Royal blue and red


Associated clubs
City-South; South Launceston

Affiliations (Historical)
Northern Tasmanian Football Association (Original) (NTFA) 1948–1985; Tasmanian State League (TSL) 1986

Most Games
206 by David Thomson

East Launceston

The NTFA became a six club competition in 1948 with the admission of Cornwall and Scottsdale, neither of whom exactly set the world on fire during their first few seasons. Gradually, however, Scottsdale began to emerge as a power, claiming its first flag in 1964, and thereafter regularly being there or thereabouts. Cornwall, which was renamed East Launceston in 1958, meanwhile had been spluttering along without giving any indications of being on the verge of success.

In 1967 the club suddenly burst into life and claimed its debut flag after a hard fought grand final win against North Launceston. Final scores were East Launceston 9.12 (66) defeated North Launceston 8.16 (64). The Demons then travelled to Hobart to meet TFL premier North Hobart in the state preliminary final, but poor kicking for goal ruined an otherwise creditable performance, and they ended up losing by 51 points.

In 1969 East Launceston reached another grand final, losing a high standard match by 44 points to Launceston, but thereafter there would be no further dalliances with notoriety until after the marriage of convenience with City-South in early 1986.


John Devaney - Full Points Publications



* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.