Australian Football Celebrating the history of the great Australian game



Official name
Saint Bernard's Old Collegians Football Club

Known as
St. Bernard's



Gold, black and blue

Associated clubs
St. Bernard's WFC

Affiliation (Current)
Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA) 1963–2024

Senior Premierships
VAFA A Section/Premier - 1975, 2002, 2015 (3 total); B Section/Premier B - 1984, 1987, 1991, 2018 (4 total); D Section - 1964 (1 total); E Section - 1963 (1 total)

Championships and Trophies
JN Woodrow Medal – Peter G. Aughton 1977; Bernard F. Angel 1980; Luke R. Gollant 1998; Adam Bentick 2015 (4 total); GT Moore Medal - Michael C. O’Dea 1986; M.R. Mulkearns 1990 (2 total)


St. Bernard's

Although St. Bernard’s College, Essendon, had a strong football tradition, its small size (fewer than 300 students) tended to militate against it when it came to fielding competitive school teams. In 1961, however, it was blessed with an amazingly talented group of young footballers who defied both the opposition and the odds to win the coveted Associated Catholic Schools premiership. Two years later, many of these same players formed the nucleus of the inaugural St. Bernard’s Old Collegians side which lined up in E Section of the VAFA, and which further enhanced the school’s reputation by winning the premiership at the first time of asking. Grand final opponents Glenhuntly had been in the VAFA since 1926, but it was St. Bernard’s who played with the assurance of veterans in winning comfortably by 20 points, 13.19 (97) to 11.11 (77).

Read more

2024 Season (VAFA Premier) Fixture


St. Bernard's' 2024 Fixture

Rnd H&A Club Q1Q2Q3Q4 S R Opponent Q1Q2Q3Q4 S Mgn Grd Date SC
1 H St. Bernard's        vs Fitzroy          SBC Apr 13 (Sat, 2:00)  


* Behinds calculated from the 1965 season on.
+ Score at the end of extra time.